NaNoWriMo Has Landed!

Editor’s note: this post is very late and was meant to be published on Nov 1. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Well, it’s official. I’m participating in NaNoWriMo. A very daunting prospect. I can only hope and pray to the Word God to help me through this.

I have always wanted to write a novel. A wonderful tale that may even be seen on shelves at bookstores everywhere. But, unfortunately, I have been “unable” (Yeah, right) to squeeze writing into my busy schedule. Until I took a step back and just thought. And I came up with this.

I need a kick up the backside. Come on! Writing is my passion, and yet, I keep making excuses why I don’t do it? What kind of writer would that make me? A bad one, that’s what. I’ve been slacking off for far too long. It’s time to do something!

And that something is to take a challenge. So in a moment of reckless thought, I figured Yeah, why not? And signed up for NaNoWriMo.

For those of you who have absoloutely no idea what I’m going on about here, NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month – I think that’s what it stands for, anyway. It’s sort of self-explanatory: with everyone else who’s participating (National) you write a novel (Novel Writing) in a month (Month).

But there’s quite a bit more to it. If you visit both the official website, and the Young Writers Program, you’ll see what I mean. This is more than just a few people getting together to write about a bunch of things; no, we’re talking about millions of people making a commitment to writing by making a fully-blown novel in a month. Yeah – 30 days. 30 days, people.

The first thing I thought after my mind had sobered up is WHAT?! I can’t write 50,000 words in a freaking MONTH!!! But I can. Ohhhh yes, I can. And if I can’t, I will wear the hat of shame.

You know I will.

So, after that moment of terror had crossed my mind, I smiled. This is just the kick up the backside I needed. Well done, reckless thoughts.

So, with that, I must get to my writing. Support and any feedback you wish to say on any other writing here, even negative feedback, will be much appreaciated.

Wish me luck! πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Has Landed!

  1. Congratulations and Good luck Emily! Its good to know that you’re dedicating your time – completely – to something you are passionate about.
    I can’t wait to know the outline of your novel (if you want to reveal it, that is)!
    Happy Writing! πŸ™‚

    • Of course I’ll tell everyone about my novel – but in good time. After all, we’re only five days into the month! Once it’s finished and I’ve got everything sorted out, I may make it into a pdf file and (somehow!) let you download it… But before you download I’ll let you read a sneak peek too… Thanks for the support!

  2. Good for you, Emily! I will say ‘well done’ when you tell us the task has been accomplished! We had an art show at our church last night (Saturday 12th) and many of us were surprised to see that several of our own congregation were exhibiting some of their work. As they were beginning artists, I thought they were very brave and showed great courage to display along with recognised artists. That’s the same sort of determination and courage you are showing. As we say in Canada, “Go get it girl!”.
    Cheers,
    Nuntius

Leave a Reply

