A Writing Project

I’ve been straying too far from this blog and my writing life. It’s time to do something about it. For ages now, I have been putting off practising my writing, and ridiculing the very idea of even starting to write a poem, let alone a full-blown novel!

The way I best snap myself back into order and reality is through a project. A fresh project cures everything. And so begins the project of Unis De Pink… through this wonderful name I shall reignite the fire that used to glow brightly within me – my creativity.

Let me give this some background: I have a companion. She has been here since I was two years old… I remember how we met too. My family and I were in Toys R Us, and my mum told me I could choose anything I liked to take home. Obviously this was a big decision; if I chose wrong, I would be stuck with a terrible toy for the rest of the time I owned it.

I am so glad I chose the right one, I think as I look back now. You see, I was looking around, and that was when I saw her. Her fur was a beautiful shade of pink, shining and dazzling to the eye, her well-groomed mane and tail soft and of the purest white. From the middle of her majestic head protruded a single, twirling horn.

This companion is a unicorn. There were plenty of others on the shelf, but she was the one for me. I named her Unis.

The full title (see above) was to come later. I have already given a quick thought and the word “De” that goes between the two names was only given to those in possesion of a kingdom.

Unis Pink – for that was her name back then – grew in my heart. I gave her ten universes over time, officially earning her the title Unis De Pink. Unis has ruled over them for well over a billion unicorn-years. She is now affectionately known as “President of Pink”.

Background over! I must go… the project awaits. I shall build and entire kingdom, purely on my imagination. With a little help from Unis. šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “A Writing Project

  1. Hello! So glad you dropped by my blog for a visit!

    Parents and manners. . .hmmm. . .the really sad part these days is that the parents are supposed to be the ones teaching their kids, instead of the other way around!

    What a shame for your friend! Her parents deserved more than dirty looks! Hope they saw yours! And I also hope that she sat her parents down when she got home and had aa conversation!

    Come back any time, Emily! I’ll drop back here to visit, too!

    Good luck with Unis de Pink!

Leave a Reply

